From the heART

Standard

I didn’t set out to make Valentine art. Truth be told, I consider hearts and greeting card sentiments a bit, well . . . trite.

But things start where they stART. Every time I wrap up a session in my painting studio, i make use of the extra paint by swishing it into a heart shape on a scrap of canvas. Over time, the little leftovers began talking to me and commanding a little more respect.

We all know it is folly to disregard what our hearts have to say.

Next week, I am stARTing a line of cards centered on my best-selling art, and I’m launching it with a few Valentine cards and an event benefitting New House, a local domestic violence shelter. StARTistry is helping give fresh stARTs to women who need them most.

StARTistry is always a work of heART!

About Becky Blades

I like starting things: businesses, conversations, art projects, civic improvements, poems, books and trips to Paris. Starting is creative fuel, so just to be sure I never run out of gas, I start more than I can finish. Most recently finished, the book: 'Do Your Laundry or You'll Die Alone: Advice Your Mom Would Give if She Thought You Were Listening,' a illustrated collection of counsel and inspiration for women of all ages.

One response »

Leave a Reply

